Connect with us

Around town

The UAE has cut diplomatic ties with Qatar



The UAE, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and Egypt have cut all diplomatic ties with Qatar.

Etihad Airways has already announced that it will suspend all flights to Doha “until further notice.” It is likely that other airlines will follow suit.

In a press release on local news agency WAM, the UAE has stated that Qatar has “threatened stability and security in the region, and has manipulated and shirked responsibilities and agreements made with the Gulf states.”

Adding: “Doha’s several policies which destabilizes the security and stability of the region and manipulates commitments”.

As a result, the nation has given Qatar’s diplomatic mission in Abu Dhabi 48 hours to leave the country.

The UAE has also given all Qatari citizens living or visiting the nation 14 days to leave. Citizens from Qatar have also been banned from “passing through the UAE”.

A statement on WAM’s twitter account said: “Emiratis are now banned from visiting or even passing by Qatar at all means”.

You might like

Etihad Airways pulls all flights to Qatar until further notice

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.